Showing posts with label Bribie Island Historical Society. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Bribie Island Historical Society. Show all posts

Tuesday, 16 January 2018

New book Describing Bribie

New book
Describing Bribie Island 1865-1965
: historical first-hand accounts of visiting Bribie Island

Over the century from 1865 to 1965 many different people have written fascinating first-hand accounts recording their personal experience of visiting Bribie Island. Each story provides a special insight into both the writer and the events they experienced during their time here and this insight reveals many different aspects of life and times on Bribie over those 100 years.
Section of the cover of new book
Describing Bribie Island 1865-1965


Following extensive research and document selection the Bribie Island Historical Society has published a book containing a number of these unique first-hand accounts.  





Over the last ten years Donna Holmes, Coordinator of the BIHS Historical Database Project has recorded over 10,000 references to photos, documents and articles mentioning Bribie Island. Donna selected 27 historical accounts in various formats including articles, letters and poems containing descriptive details of what Bribie Island was like when their writer visited.

The earliest stories are two letters written in 1865 on an Easter trip to Bribie by four men in a row boat. What an adventure they had rowing up the Pumicestone Passage! One man was the first premier of Queensland, another was manager of the Bank of NSW in Brisbane. The second letter was originally sent to a niece on the other side of the world and is illustrated with a series of delightful sketches and a wonderful map of Moreton Bay showing the journey stops.

Another narrative tells of an old man and a boy on a week-long trip from Beaudesert to Bribie Island in a horse and cart in 1909.  There are accounts of journeys on excursion steamships from Brisbane while other stories are written by early settlers, soldiers who were posted here and pioneers of families who descendants still live on Bribie today.

The authors include famous people like Thomas Welsby though mainly they are ordinary people who came to Bribie Island to do a job, make a new life or escape from an old one. Many of the documents have been sourced from newspapers of the time, through the John Oxley Library or from items donated to the Historical Society by descendants of the writer.

The selected accounts are all so different and provide insightful understanding of the various eras of Bribie's history. What it was like in the 1890s, during the First World War, the Depression years, the Second World War, the struggles of the 1950s and the boom years after the Bridge. The most recent account is a poem written in 1965 by the Island's Librarian.

This is the first published book by the Bribie Island Historical Society, which will celebrate its tenth anniversary in 2018. The book has over 80 pages of well-referenced material with numerous footnotes and several illustrations from the original stories. Copies are available to members of the public for $20 plus postage. For further information please contact BIHS on bribiehistoricalsociety@gmail.com 


Describing Bribie Island 1865-1965
CONTENTS

01. Robert Herbert and three friends visit Bribie Island (1865)
02. Sandy Archer and three friends visit Bribie Island (1865) 
03. A Cruise round Moreton Bay – Bob S., Bill W., Frank O., A.B. (1873)
04. Seeing Bribie Island in 1909 by Ronald Patterson
05. Harry Johns and the Cary family, 53 Toorbul Street (1917-1918) 
06. Reminiscences from 1919-1988 by James Ormiston
07. Bribie Island in the 1920s by Ronald Patterson 
08. Bribie Island by Phoebe Kirwan (1924) 
09. Bribie Passage: a wonderful waterway by Vance Palmer (1926) 
10. The Unnamed Lakes by William Main (1928)
11. The Island Itself by Thomas Welsby (1928)
12. Childhood memories (1930s-1940s) from Alex Barnett 
13. A Trip to Bribie Island by Irene Cuthbert (1930) 
14. Reminiscences from 1930-1988 by Sally and Bernie Brennan 
15. The Passing Show: a visit to Bribie Island by “Verity” (1931) 
16. Historic Island. Attractions of Bribie. (1932) 
17. Riding tour over the Blackall Range to Bribie Island by Helena Cass (1933)
18. The Harrison Family - Reminiscences from 1933-1983 by Wendy McNeill
19. G.A. Beale stationed at Toorbul Point (1942)
20. Lou’s Wartime Bribie (1942-1945) 
21. My Bribie Island Year (1942-1943) by Graham R. Lovegrove 
22. Reminiscences of Bribie (1946-1950) by R.E. Simpson 
23. Reminiscences of Bribie (1940s-1950s) by Ted Clayton
24. History of “Kiama” Bribie Island (1946-1970S) by Mrs. Keith Price 
25. Bribie Island . . . where Flinders lost his hat by Harry Frauca (1962)
26. Bribie Walkabout by Zena Turner (1963) 
27. poem Bribie by Lou Young (1965)  

Thursday, 5 October 2017

Vale

VALE - WARWICK OUTRAM
Warwick Outram in 2013.
Photo: Barry Clark
Few people have served the Bribie Island community in so many important ways, over so many years, as Warwick Outram. He passed away peacefully on 7 September 2017 in the company of his loving family.


Warwick lived 43 of his 90 years on Bribie Island, serving in many business and community roles, and documenting the rich history of the Island. He came with his wife Dot and family in 1974, at the time of the Brisbane floods, and took over the lease of the Bongaree Caravan Park for his retirement.

Born and educated in Newcastle Warwick grew up during The Great Depression, and became the youngest trainee technician with Burroughs Ltd during WW2. As a young man in a pioneer Information Technology industry he was required to take on significant responsibilities, travelling extensively to service customers with Adding and early Computing machines. Over the next 31 years with the company he progressed through the ranks, managing the transition to decimal currency, until a major job in a Capital City became inevitable.

That’s when Warwick and Dot decided to opt for a different lifestyle for their family, and came to live on Bribie Island to run the Caravan Park. Over the next 43 years Warwick was committed to his new home, devoting his energy and business skills in so many ways for the good of Bribie Island community. He served as President and Vice President of the Chamber of Commerce for 10 years, and for 20 years compiled the “Holiday Guide and Business Directory” to promote the Island's tourism and services. He volunteered on numerous community committees and Projects, including the Golden Age, Heritage Walks, the concept of Museum for Bribie Island, and for Council to recognise the value of the Island's rich history.

It was Warwick who coined the phrase “Bribie Island – the Cradle site of Queensland” in recognition of the first landing by Matthew Flinders and Bongaree in 1799. He started writing articles for the local “Island and Mainland News” newspaper in 1993, which led eventually to him writing his first book of “Heritage Tales”. The more he wrote, the more the fascinating stories emerged from long term residents, and over the last 20 years he has written, and personally published 57 books about Bribie Island History and heritage.

His wife Dot became very sick and they gave up the Caravan Park while he nursed her to her end in 2001, while developing commercial fishing interests and representing the Queensland State Fishing industry. With his Information Technology background, he worked hard to keep pace with modern computer developments, capturing historical records and an extensive photo collection.

In 2006 he moved to Bribie Cove Retirement Village where he continued his prolific writing, resulting in Bribie’s most extensive history book production. All typed, compiled, illustrated, printed, bound and distributed by an octogenarian who had a passion for the Island's rich and colourful past. As each of his 57 books were produced, copies were sent to both the National and Queensland State Libraries, as well as Queensland University and the Royal Historical Society of Queensland, and local Libraries. Warwick was also commissioned to write a “Remembrance Handbook” for the RSL Community Link, and the History of the “Chamber of Commerce”. He was invited to be the Patron of the Bribie Island Historical Society when it was established in 2008, and dedicated several of his books to the Historical Society including the “Bribie Bridge 50th Anniversary” in 2013.
Warwick was still writing about his beloved Bribie Island until just a few weeks before he died.

Warwick recently celebrated his 90th Birthday with 24 of his children, grandchildren and great grandchildren who have all remained living in the area. He was a very determined and generous man, who stood by strong principles and was determined to leave a legacy for future generations. He believed firmly in the old saying 


Happiness is found along the way, not a reward at the end of the journey”.



Barry Clark
Bribie Island Historical Society

Saturday, 3 September 2016

Article September 2016

Historical Society plots Island's past
by Barry Clark
This article was published in RSL Beacon no. 182, Sep 2016, page 8.

WHEN Matthew Flinders and Bongaree first set foot on Bribie Island in 1799, they established the "Cradle site of Queensland.  Many years passed before anyone else came here, but three castaway convicts from Sydney ended up living with the Aboriginal people on the island and helped John Oxley find the Brisbane River in 1824. A penal colony was initially established at Brisbane, but when that closed and land was opened up to settlers, they progressively spread north and inland. 

It was not until 1859 that the State of Queensland was established and separated from NSW with its own governor. Very few others came to live on Bribie Island until the early 1900s, and even then they were just grazing cattle, cutting timber and gathering oysters. Despite the establishment of the first Aboriginal reserve on the island in 1877, by 1897 the last of the Aboriginal people, who had been numerous when Matthew Flinders arrived, had died. Bribie Island was regarded as “the meanest pieces of country in Australia”, according to a respected politician and explorer who visited briefly in 1891.

A fish cannery established at Bongaree at 1910 was the first real business enterprise here and it employed the few tough men who lived here. That fish cannery was established by a lady, Mrs Sarah Balls, who operated it for four years until 1914 when the resident population was less than 40. By then Bribie Island was being opened up to residents and visitors by the Brisbane Tug & Steamship company, which built a jetty at Bongaree and started regular trips by the steamship Koopa from Brisbane in 1912.

So … it is only just over 100 years that everything that you now see here on Bribie Island has been created.

The Bribie Island Historical Society was established by Barry Clark eight years ago in an attempt to capture the rich history of the island from some of the old timers and to share these fascinating stories and images with residents and visitors. He initiated a number of heritage plaques and signage along the Bongaree foreshore and has produced brochures and informative maps to showcase some of the heritage sites around the island.

In recent years the Historical Society has organised commemorative events and erected informative plaques to commemorate the centenary of the Bongaree Jetty and steamship era and the establishment of the township of Bongaree in 1912.  In 2013, they commemorated the 50-year anniversary of the building of the Bribie Bridge in 1963 with the erection of two plaques. In 2015, the centenary of Anzac was remembered with two commemorative plaques at the First Avenue memorial to those men from Bribie Island who “answered the call” in both world wars.

Barry Clark, also a Rotarian, is researching a number of signs to be installed at Rotary Park in Woorim to provide information about the remaining World War II structures and the strategic role of Bribie Island in the defence of Brisbane and Australia.

Bribie Island Historical Society will be holding its monthly meetings in future in the Anzac room of the RSL Club on the second Wednesday of each month, at which they have a variety of fascinating presentations on aspects of Bribie history and visiting guest speakers on a range of interesting topics. Guests, visitors and new members are always welcome.

The Historical Society committee, from right, Nancy Cameron
(treasurer), Barry Clark (founder), Lynne Hooper (president)
and Don Mullen, Bribie's pharmacist for more than 50 years.
Photo: Barry Clark
At the club’s recent annual general meeting, Lynne Hooper was elected president for a second year, Nancy Cameron back as treasurer and a new Secretary Jeanette Saviane. Past presidents Barry Clark, Graham Mills and Donna Holmes remain on the Committee.

Although it is little more than 100 years since people first settled here, the things that have happened, or have been proposed to happen, on Bribie Island are often quite surprising. 

A plaque in Brennan Park tells of a few people who had lived on the island for 50 years or more, and another on a rock in Fairweather Park tells of the 21 years spent in his grass hut by the internationally recognised recluse artist Ian Fairweather.


Members of the Historical Society and Toc-H at last year's
Coungeau House Centenary Celebration.
Photo: Barry Clark
Last year the society commemorated the centenary of Bribie’s most historic building, Coungeau House in Banya Street, and many dressed for the occasion to reflect on its 100 years.

The Historical Society has been creating a comprehensive database of all known Bribie Island history records and is always keen to hear from anyone with documents, photos or personal memories of times gone by.

You can talk to the Historical Society team most Tuesday or Thursday mornings at the Bribie Library or contact them on bribiehistoricalsociety@gmail.com or view extensive information on bribieislandhistory.blogspot.com.au


Saturday, 20 August 2016

BIHS Brochure Aug 2016

Bribie Island Historical Society
Brochure
August 2016

There is a new version of our BIHS brochure with updated details on the Heritage Plaques and Memorials on Bribie Island.




A pdf copy can be found on our BIHS website at https://sites.google.com/site/bribiehistoricalsociety/brochure


Information Leaflet prepared for 50th Anniversary

The following leaflet was prepared for the 50th Anniversary celebrations on 19 October 2013 by the Bribie Island Historical Society.

Saturday 19th October 2013
50th Anniversary of the Opening of the Bribie Bridge
INFORMATION LEAFLET
Introduction
Today, Saturday 19th October 2013 marks the 50th anniversary of the opening of the Bribie Island Bridge.  The building of the bridge allowed easy motor vehicle access resulting in Bribie Island’s rapid transformation. 
While Bribie Island had long been a popular holiday destination the construction of the bridge allowed many people to choose to move here permanently.
Today is an opportunity to celebrate the history of the bridge: its design, its construction, the opening day and the anniversary celebrations that have occurred since.  

Bribie before the Bridge
The earliest regular visitors to Bribie Island came by boat following the construction of the first jetty in May 1912 at Bongaree.
A number of steamships including the Koopa and Doomba transported holiday-makers from Brisbane to Bribie Island.
As car travel became more popular after World War II, Mr. Gordon Shields began a vehicular-passenger service between Bribie and Toorbul Point.  Over the years the barge service was operated by a number of different people, with the last operator being Mr. “Snowy” Drenan.  The ability to transport motor vehicles to the Island resulted in considerable home building and community infrastructure activity. 

Constructing the Bridge
The idea of a bridge to Bribie Island had been discussed for many years and on 17 November 1959 came an official announcement that the bridge would be built.  It was obvious that the bridge should be located near Toorbul Point where the passage narrows but the exact position was chosen after consideration of such additional factors as the depth of the channel bed, the length of the bridge and approach from each side, and the requirement for driven pile foundations.

On 29 March 1961 it was announced that the contract for the construction of the bridge was let to K.D. Morris & Sons Pty Ltd.  The bridge was built from the mainland across to Bribie Island.  The sequence of each span of the bridge involved pre-cast piles being driven, the reinforced concrete headstocks cast, pre-cast beams lifted into place and the reinforced concrete deck poured in-situ and finally the handrails erected.  The pre-cast concrete elements were supplied by Concrete Industries Pty Ltd.

The construction of the bridge presented a number of unique challenges, one of the biggest being the driving of the long concrete piles.  These piles were up to 85 feet in length and weighed over 12 tons each.  It was necessary for the piles to be driven from a floating platform that remained perfectly stationary, using a ten ton hammer to drive the piles.  As there was no plant capable of achieving this readily available in Australia, a special pile driving frame was mounted on a floating steel barge.

Construction of the bridge gave employment to a work force of up to forty men.  There were no fatalities though several accidents did occur, the most common being men falling into the passage from their lofty footholds.

Opening Day Celebrations
The opening celebrations for the bridge took place on Saturday 19 October 1963.  The events for the day included:

·       A formal opening ceremony with dignitaries and invited guests
The bridge was officially opened by the Premier of Queensland, Mr. Frank Nicklin.  Speeches were given by Mr. Frank Nicklin and Mr. David Nicholson, Queensland Parliamentary Speaker and Member for Murrumba.  Two memorial plaques on the mainland side were unveiled by Premier Nicklin and Sir James Holt, Co-ordinator General.

·       An afternoon tea
The newly built Bellara Motel Restaurant was the venue for afternoon tea for the official party.  A review platform was set up on the front lawn for the Premier and official party to watch the procession.

·       A procession 
The procession included: vintage and veteran cars, a horse guard, marching girls, buses, scouts and other local groups crossed the bridge into Benabrow avenue.

·       A Debutante Ball in the evening.
In the evening the Bribie Ambulance Ladies’ Appeal Committee held a Debutante Ball at the Church of England Hall in Banya street.  The debutantes were Yvonne Williams, Brenda Gould and Teresa Clarke.  The flower girls were Michele and Terese Kendall.

Bridge Anniversaries
Over the years there have been several anniversary celebrations held for the Bribie Island Bridge, including 10th, 20th, 25th, 30th and 40th year anniversaries.  While some of the anniversaries coincided with other Bribie festivals others were more low key events. 

1973 – 10th anniversary
The 10th anniversary celebrations were held on Saturday 20th October 1973.  The toll was lifted for the day and bridge was closed to traffic while the procession was in progress.

1983 – 20th anniversary
The 20th Anniversary celebrations were held on Saturday 22 October 1983 and coincided with the annual Bribie Island Festival.  The bridge celebrations included a parade, an afternoon tea and a commemorative publication.

1988 – 25th anniversary
The silver anniversary was celebrated with the Bribie Bridge Carnival which was held in October 1988 over five days.  As part of the celebrations there were three commemorative publications, a carnival t-shirt and a display of artwork.

1993 – 30th anniversary
The Anniversary celebration was part of the Bribie Island Aquatic Festival which ran from 15 to 17 October 1993.

 2003 – 40th anniversary
For the 40th anniversary a walk was held by the Rotary Club of Bribie Island to raise funds.  Each person of a 10-person team walked four times over the bridge.

Toll
When the bridge first opened there was a toll of ten shillings.  The popularity of Bribie as a holiday destination for people from Brisbane can be gauged by how quickly the toll paid off the loan for the bridge – it took just under 12 years! 
The first toll ticket was purchased by Premier Nicklin and the last toll ticket was purchased by Bribie resident Mr. Stan Balmer on 22 March 1975. 
The Toll Master for the duration of the toll, 20 October 1963 to 22 March 1975, was Mr. Jack Greenhalgh.

Bridge Facts
. At the time it was constructed the Bribie Island Bridge was the longest pre-stressed, pre-cast concrete bridge in Australia.
. The Bridge spans 2742 feet (835 metres).
. At the centre of the bridge there is a clearance of 24ft (7.3m) at low tide to cater for small craft.
. There are 104 beams each weighing 18 tons.  The beams of pre-stressed concrete are each 72ft (21.9 m) long and 4ft 6in (1.4 m) deep.
. The bridge cost £350,000, a little over $700,000.
. The bridge now has 13 lights and walkway hand railing which were additions to the original design.

Acknowledgements:  With thanks to Graham Mills, Barry Clark and Donna Holmes for compiling the above information leaflet.  October 2013.

Bongaree War Memorial 2015

Bongaree War Memorial

The following information and photos are sourced from Monument Australia
http://monumentaustralia.org.au/themes/conflict/multiple/display/90586-bongaree-war-memorial

Description:
A monument erected in 1975 commemorates those who have served in the various conflicts in which Australia has been involved.

Two additional plaques were added to the monument on the 31st July 2015 listed those from Bribie Island and Pumicestone Passage who served in World Wars One and Two.


Plaque One Inscription:


Lest We Forget

This Memorial Was Erected In Memory Of Those Who Paid The Supreme Sacrifice In The Defence Of Our Country
1975


Bongaree War Memorial
Lest We Forget plaque unveiled in 1975



Bongaree War Memorial
Two additional plaques unveiled 31 July 2015





Plaque Two (left side) Inscription: 
World War 1  1914 - 1918

In honour of those from Bribie Island and Pumicestone Passage who answered the call

[ Names ]






Plaque Three (right side) Inscription:
World War 2  1939 - 1945

In honour of those from Bribie Island and Pumicestone Passage who answered the call

[ Names ]




Acknowledgements: The above photographs by John Huth and Diane Watson, some dated 19 Aug 2015, were supplied to Monument Australia.
http://monumentaustralia.org.au/themes/conflict/multiple/display/90586-bongaree-war-memorial

Bribie Island Bridge 50th Anniversary 2013

Bribie Island Bridge 50th Anniversary - Memorial Plaques

The following information and photos are sourced from Monument Australia
http://monumentaustralia.org.au/australian_monument/display/100534

Bribie Island Bridge 50th Anniversary
Saturday 19 October 2013

Description:
Two plaques commemorating the 50th Anniversary of the opening of the Bribie Island Bridge on Saturday 19 October 1963.

The bridge, which took two years to build, was the longest, pre-stressed, pre-cast concrete bridge in Australia at the time of its construction. Spanning 2736 feet (831.4 metres), the bridge cost $716,321 and had a 10 shilling toll to cross it.  The bridge was officially opened on Saturday 19 October 1963 by the then Premier of Queensland, Frank Nicklin.

Plaque One Inscription:
1963 - 2013

50 year anniverary of the Bribie Island Bridge

This plaque commemorates the opening of the Bribie Island Bridge on 19th October 1963, a significant event in the development of the island.  From 1912 when the Bongaree Jetty was built, visitors came on steamship "excursions" before roads & motor cars became popular in the 1940s.

A car ferry was then the required transport from the mainland opposite.


As vehicles and population numbers increased throughout the 1950s, Government consider the possible construction and funding of a bridge.  Various alternatives were considered before construction of this longest pre-stressed concrete bridge in Australia at the time.

A significant toll (10 shillings) was imposed to cross the bridge, which enabled the bridge to be paid for in 12 years, and the toll ended in 1975.

Commemorating 50 years of the Bridge`s service to the community

Bribie Island Historical Society

19th October 2013


Plaque Two Inscription:
1963 - 2013

Bribie Island Bridge - Built 1963

This concrete block was an anchor for a pile driving barge used to construct this longest pre-stressed bridge in Australia at the time.  A total of 206 piles, up to 26m long and 12 tons each, were driven up to 10 metres into the sea bed.  Calculations for this complex task were checked with a "new" electronic computer at the University of Queensland.

For over 30 years a bridge had been discussed but the resident population in 1963 was only 700.  The population grew by just a few hundred before the toll was lifted in 1975.  Today it has increased twenty-fold

Acknowledgements:
The above photographs by John Huth dated 13 Sep 2014 were supplied to Monument Australia.
http://monumentaustralia.org.au/australian_monument/display/100534


Friday, 19 August 2016

Centenary of Bongaree Jetty May 2012

Centenary of Bongaree Jetty - May 2012

The following information and photos are sourced from Monument Australia
http://monumentaustralia.org.au/themes/culture/community/display/104377-centenary-of-bongaree-jetty

Bongaree Jetty Centenary Plaque, 
Bongaree Jetty, Bribie Island

Description:
Commemorative bronze plaque on large stone at the end of the Bongaree Jetty, unveiled for the Jetty's centenary (1912-2012) in May 2012.

Front Inscription:
1912 - 2012

Centenary of Bongaree Jetty

Prior to 1900 few people visited Bribie Island, and without a jetty landing passengers was difficult.  In 1912 the first jetty was built here as a private initiative by the Brisbane Tug & Steamship Co. to enable regular excursions from Brisbane.

Over the next 40 years many steamships, commencing with the purpose S. S. Koopa brought thousands of people on day trips and for camping & fishing holidays.  Visits to Bribie Island became so popular that by the 1920s this jetty was enlarged to provide three passenger walkways.

In 1924 a road was built from the Jetty to Ocean Beach.  The jetty has been refurbished many times over the years but continues to be a popular focal point.

Commemorating 100 years of the jetty`s service to the community

Bribie Island Historical Society


May 2012


                                                  Acknowledgements:
 The above photographs by John Huth dated 13 Sep 2014 were supplied to Monument Australia.   http://monumentaustralia.org.au/themes/culture/community/display/104377-centenary-of-bongaree-jetty



Sunday, 3 July 2016

Who Answered The Call

QANZAC 100 Project - "Who Answered The Call"

On 31 July 2015, two bronze plaques were unveiled at the little park at the end of First Avenue in Bongaree.  On these bronze plaques are the names of service men and women from Bribie Island and Pumicestone Passage who answered the call to serve Australia during World War 1 (1914-1918) and World War 2 (1939-1945).

IN HONOUR OF THOSE FROM BRIBIE ISLAND AND PUMICESTONE PASSAGE 
WHO ANSWERED THE CALL


RAN
CAMPBELL
Reginald Joseph
6477

HMAS Penguin
Bribie Island

ARMY
BISHOP
Maurice Alexander
366

11 Depot Bn
Toorbul
BONNEY
Walter Herbert
4681

26 Bn
Toorbul
DAVIS
Alexander Thomas
2792
DOW †
42 Bn
Toorbul
DUX
Bertie
6158

11 Bn
Toorbul
FREEMAN
William
2809

3 MG Bn
Toorbul
FREEMAN
Edward Henry
2987

11 Bn
Toorbul
GOLLAGHER
George Leslie
4535

31 Bn
Toorbul
GOSLING
William
4728
KIA †
26 Bn
Bribie Island
JACQUES
George Ernest
2188

49 Bn
Bribie Island
LAYTON
Alan
3388

4 Pnr Bn
Bribie Island
MILLS
John Robert
2262

2 Rmt Unit
Toorbul Point
MILLS
Thomas James
170

15 Bn
Toorbul Point
MILLS
Walter Henry
944
POW
25 Bn
Bribie Island
STORR
Arthur William
4891
KIA †
9 Bn
Bribie View
STORR
Charles Allan
4892

9 Bn
Bribie View
STORR
Harold Francis
653

15 Bn
Bribie View
TRIPCONY
Thomas Martin
1986

49 Bn
Cowie Bank




RAN
BAND
John Morrell

KIA †
HMAS Basilisk
White Patch

ARMY
ADAMS
Thomas Edward
Q187167

1 Garrison Bn
Toorbul
BENSON
Reginald Clarence
QX61294

2 Aust Mtn Bty
Donnybrook
BOOTHE
George Henry
Q187425

1 Garrison Bn
Toorbul
BOOTHE
Kathleen Violet
Q267346

AAMWS
Toorbul
COSTIN
William Charles
QX14502
POW
2/26 Inf Bn
Bribie Island
CROUCH
Charles Frederick
QX27813

2/15 Inf Bn
Bribie Island
DARVALL
Mary Judith
QF273914

2 AWS Trg Coy
Bribie Island
DUKE
John Allan
QX9594

2/15 Inf Bn
Toorbul
FREEMAN
William Charles
Q120090

12 Garrison Bn
Bribie Island
GRANT
Edith Emily Isobel
QF268557

5 Aust Ord Stores Coy
Bribie Island
JACKSON
Cecil Robert
QX52029

13 Fd Regt
Donnybrook
LINDSAY
William John
QX13785
POW
1 Coy AASC
Bribie Island
O’NEILL
Arthur
QX27819

2/16 Inf Bn
Bribie Island
SHAW
Thomas
QX45157

12 Army Tps Coy RAE
Bribie Island
WELLAUER
George Benjamin
QX30244

2/6 Aust Fd Coy RAE
Bribie Island
WILSON
Robert George
Q153131

9 Wks Coy
Bribie Island

RAAF
SHIELDS
Gordon Henderson
78860

11 Sqn
Toorbul
HEENAN
Denis Joseph
6762

10 AAC Flt
Bribie Island


Memories of Local War Heroes
“If I had died there . . . I would be remembered”,
this statement says a lot about how we regard War service all these years later.

The Bribie Island Historical Society recognised that there was no specific memorial to those from Bribie Island and surrounding areas who had answered the call to duty in both World War 1 and World War 2.

Throughout this year 2015, the centenary year of ANZAC, there has been a great focus on the events of World War 1 (1914-1918).  A special fund was established for this purpose by the State Government for communities to initiate projects in remembrance of those who served.  A small grant was received by the Bribie Island Historical Society to enable research to be carried out to establish and commemorate the men and women from here who served in both Wars.

Initially it seemed that there were very few people from Bribie Island, Toorbul Point, Donnybrook [formerly Bribie View] and Pumicestone Passage who had enlisted, but as the research dug deeper it revealed the remarkable number of 18 men who enlisted from this area in World War 1.  Given that the population of eligible males in the area was less than 60 in those days, the impact on the community during the 1914/1918 period comes into stark focus. Of the 18 men, one went into the Navy and 17 in the Army, two were killed in action, one died of wounds, and one was taken prisoner of war.  The rest returned from the war.

During World War 2 (1939-1945) a total of 19 people enlisted from the much larger number of residents in the area by then, including three women, and one man who had also previously served in WW1.  Of these 19 local people who served in WW2, one was Navy and 16 were Army, two were RAAF; one was killed in action and two taken Prisoner of War.

The family names of these local heroes, especially those in World War 1 form a significant part of our local history.  Some of these names are reflected in local streets and place names today such as Campbell, Bishop, Davis, Dux, Freeman, Gollagher and Tripcony.  These were some of the families that pioneered the settlement and development of Bribie and surrounds back in those times.

Likewise with some of the World War 2 names such as Costin, Crouch, Freeman and Shields still have descendants living on Bribie Island. Of the three women who enlisted in WW2, Mary Duvall and Edith Grant were from Bribie Island, and Kathleen Boothe was from Toorbul.

Graham Mills (centre) with Ted Freeman (right)
and John McGrath unveil plaques.
Photo: Barry Clark
In a moving ceremony last Friday at the memorial on First Avenue, Bongaree, Project Manager Graham Mills outlined the complex task involved in establishing the final list, and paid tribute to the Historical Society research and input from relatives.  Member for Pumicestone Rick Williams paid tribute to this initiative as did Councilor Gary Parsons.  Ray Sycamore from the RSL sub branch and Padre Colin Baxter paid their respects, and the two High School Captains laid wreaths.

Of particular mention was William Freeman who had served in both Wars and whose family descendants are still resident on Bribie Island. Long term resident Ted Freeman was then invited to unveil one of the Plaques and the other by Vietnam veteran John McGrath.

You can contact the Bribie Island Historical Society on bribiehistoricalsociety@gmail.com
By Barry Clark
[The above article was published in The Bribie Islander, no. 13, Aug. 2015, p. 19.]