Showing posts with label First shop. Show all posts
Showing posts with label First shop. Show all posts

Saturday, 7 May 2016

Q150 2009 First shop

Q150 Heritage Plaque - 7 of 16 - First Shop
The Bribie Island Heritage Plaques Waterfront Walk Bongaree consists of 16 bronze plaques located on the "Heritage Walk" along the walking path beside the Bongaree beach from the southern point of South Esplanade and finishes just north of Kangaroo Avenue.
These 16 bronze plaques set on a white concrete square record various aspects of the history of Bribie Island: Record Rainfall, South Esplanade, Campbell's Store, Camping Grounds, Bribie Island heritage quote from A. Meston, Ian Fairweather, First Shop, Bribie Island Heritage quote from Stan Tutt, First Avenue, Fishing Records, Welsby Parade, Bribie Island Wartime, First Car, Shirley Creek, Castaway Convicts and Fish Cannery.
The following excerpt is from the 2009 booklet produced prior to the plaques placement.  The Heritage Plaques Waterfront Walk Bongaree project was a Q150 Community Funded Program, initiated by the Rotary Club of Bribie Island and supported by Moreton Bay Regional Council in conjunction with Bribie Island U3A and Bribie Island Historical Society.
A copy of the map for the Bongaree Waterfront Walk can be found at 



FIRST SHOP

A.H. “Artie” Bestmann kept bees and dairy cattle here from 1903.  Alfred Hall, a Brisbane grocer, built a house next door in 1913 and together they provided basic goods to visitors from a spare room.  In 1921 they built the “Hall and Bestmann Store” on this corner.


History of Bribie’s First Shop
¨ Arthur H. “Artie” Bestmann moved to Bongaree from his parents farm at Best Park, near Godwin Beach, in the early 1900’s.  He kept bees and grazed dairy cattle, establishing the first dairy on Bribie Island.  Artie supplied milk and honey to local residents and visitors.
¨ In 1913, a storekeeper from Toowong in Brisbane, Alfred T. “Alf” Hall built a holiday cottage next door to Artie Bestmann on what was to become Toorbul Street.  Locals and campers on holiday were soon asking Alf Hall to bring provisions from Brisbane to replenish their supplies.
Alfred Hall's holiday home and shop on verandah
¨ Alf and Artie began selling their foodstuffs from the window of the spare room at the front of Hall’s house to customers on the verandah.  Over time business expanded and the partners built the substantial Hall & Bestmann Store on the corner block. 
¨ Although the original shop has had many subsequent owners and renovations, it still occupies the same site today, on the corner of Toorbul Street and First Avenue Service Road.
Hall and Bestmann Store 1920s
  
Business on Bribie.
¨ Saplings were cut and stacked beside the shop as tent poles for sale or hire to campers to erect their teowned in partnership by Artie Bestmann and Jack Bishop.
¨ A Pontoon owned in partnership by Artie Bestmann and Jack Bishop was used to take cows with calf to Bongaree.  This pontoon also brought the “First Car” to Bongaree in 1918.
¨ During the time of the Winston Bros. ownership, a wooden seat was placed on the footpath outside the shop.  This became a meeting place for locals who proclaimed it “The Seat of Knowledge”.

Hall & Bestmann Family History
¨ Alfred and Emily Hall had four sons—Roy, Hector, Len and Ian.  The boys helped out at the shop, delivering groceries by horse and cart to island residents.  In 1923 Len Hall, aged 15, worked in the shop alongside Artie Bestmann while his parents were on a trip to   England.
¨ In 1924, Alf Hall’s niece, Lilly, came out from England and she and husband Wilfred Cotterill ran a dairy and crop farm on what is now Cotterill Avenue.  Alfred Hall retired in 1926/27 dividing his assets with Arthur Bestmann.  He retained the 321 acres which the Cotterill family continued to farm on his behalf.  Always a keen bowler, Alfred was now able to enjoy this activity at the new bowls club.  He was elected the 2nd President of Bribie Island Bowls Club.
¨  Artie Bestmann continued in the store with the help of his sister Eda Bishop and his niece  Myrtle Bestmann.  The shop was later sold to the Winston Bros.  Artie continued to live at the back of the shop for a while. 

Saturday, 23 January 2016

Bribie Heritage Plaques Walk

Bribie Island Heritage Plaques Waterfront Walk



Bribie Island Heritage Plaques Waterfront Walk Q150 Community Funded Program.  Initiated by the Rotary Club of Bribie Island and supported by Moreton Bay Regional Council in conjunction with Bribie Island U3A and Bribie Island Historical Society. 2009.

The opening ceremony for the unveiling of the 16 Heritage Plaques held Saturday 1st August 2009.  The program was initiated and managed by Barry Clark.

A 40 page book produced to document and launch the waterfront plaque walk at Bongaree.

Record Rainfall

South Esplanade

Campbell's Store

Camping Grounds

Bribie Island Heritage - A. Meston

Ian Fairweather

First Shop

Bribie Island Heritage - S. 
Tutt

First Avenue

Fishing Records

Welsby Parade

Bribie Island Wartime

First Car

Shirley Creek

Castaway Convicts

Fish Cannery








1. RECORD RAINFALL 
The greatest daily rainfall officially recorded anywhere in Australia fell near Pumicestone Passage on 3rd February 1893.  After 3 weeks of continuous rain, a record total of 907mm was recorded at Beerwah by Inigo Jones, in this one 24 hour period.

2. SOUTH ESPLANADE
From the 1920’s many large guest houses operated along here.  Proprietors met the “Excursion Ships” and carried guests luggage over creeks and sand tracks, offering the attraction of specialty food and entertainment.

3. CAMPBELL’S STORE
In the 1890’s Joe Campbell was an Oysterman in the Passage.  In the 1930’s his son Reg had a General Store & Boat Shed by this creek, when it was much larger and used as a boat harbour by campers and Dugong fishermen. 

4. CAMPING GROUNDS
In the 1920’s there were few shops, no services, and less than 100 permanent residents.  Many thousands came every week by Ship from Brisbane and pitched their tents here to enjoy cheap and healthy holidays.

5. BRIBIE ISLAND HERITAGE
“Bribie Island is one on the meanest pieces of country in Australia ….. A howling desert of tea-tree swamps, rank aquatic vegetation and unimaginable cussedness”. 
Archibald Meston (1891) - explorer, Author and Politician.
6. IAN FAIRWEATHER
After a lifetime of travel and adventure, in 1953 at the age of 62, this world famous artist came to live in isolation in a grass hut inland from here.  He created some of his finest paintings in this hut over the next 21 years until his death in 1974.

7. FIRST SHOP 
A.H. “Artie” Bestmann kept bees and dairy cattle here from 1903.  Alfred Hall, a Brisbane grocer, built a house next door in 1913 and together they provided basic goods to visitors from a spare room.  In 1921 they built the “Hall and Bestmann Store” on this corner.
Further information at http://bribieislandhistory.blogspot.com.au/2016/05/q150-2009-first-shop.html

8. BRIBIE ISLAND HERITAGE 
“It might not be too much to claim, Pumicestone Passage and Bribie Island contain more history, written and unwritten, than any other place in Queensland”. 
Stan Tutt (1981)  -  Sunshine Coast Historian

9. FIRST AVENUE 
Originally named Campbell Rd., for the Director of the tug Company who had the road built from Bongaree to Woorim in 1923.  It was planned to be a four lane road and steam Tramway, but this did not eventuate although initially it was a toll road.

10. FISHING RECORDS 
“Bribie jetty and its environs must be the most remarkable fishing place in Australia.  More black Groper have been caught here than any other spot in Australia.  A man known as the “Groper King”  caught many over 500 lbs”. 
Ted Shields (1947)  - Fisherman and Barge owner.

 11. WELSBY PARADE
This road named for Thomas Weslby, Brisbane businessman, Historian, Sportsman and Author, who in 1937 at the age of 80, wrote the book “Bribie the Basket Maker” and thus created a legend about the Island and its name.

12. BRIBIE ISLAND WARTIME
Bribie Island and Toorbul point (now Sandstone Point) were major training bases for Navy and Army forces during World War 2. Many military structures are still visible along the Ocean beach, and a small Arms Store can be seen across this road.

13. FIRST CAR
In 1918 A.H. “Artie” Bestmann drove the first car, a 1914 Talbot, to Bongaree.  With a young Ian Hall as his passenger, they did the 2 day drive from Brisbane along beach and bush tracks, and then by barge from Godwin Beach across the Passage.

14. SHIRLEY CREEK
Bill Shirley built the first road from the jetty to Ocean Beach in 1923.  He ran a bus service and a Guest House and became Bribie’s first Councillor.  A wooden bridge replaced a single plank walkway here in 1935 as his first Council works.

15. CASTAWAY CONVICTS
In 1823 three Sydney convicts in a small boat were caught in a hugh storm which dumped them close to death on Moreton Island. They walked around Moreton Bay, thinking Sydney was nearby, and were the first white men to live on Bribie Island, being there for many months before recapture.

16. FISH CANNERY
A Fish Canning factory operated near here from 1910 to 1914 owned by Mrs Sarah “Mum” Balls.  She also had many Hotels and Refreshment Rooms in Queensland and in 1929 built “Santa Barbara”, one of Brisbane’s grandest homes.